Montecristo – Vintage 1999

Price: $6 – $8

Size: 5.5″ x 44

Wrapper: Sumatran

Binder: Mexican

Filler: Peruvian, Nicaraguan, and Dominican

Body: Medium (Mild in the first third)

Montecristo Vintage 1999

Initial Impression:  The Montecristo Vintage 1999 is very good looking.  Solid construction from cap to tip and some small veins throughout the body.  The cap was excellent on this cigar and cutting it was easy and clean.     The draw also felt very smooth so I was definitely wanting to light this up!  I toasted it and the lighting was very easy.

Pre-light Draw: A nice sweet taste like agave and cocoa with a hint of leather.

Montecristo Vintage 1999

1st Third: The sweet agave that I tasted on the cold draw is present in the smoke and also when I lick my lips.  this is the first thing that stands out to me.  If it were any sweeter I might think I was smoking something from the flavored Drew Estate lines of cigars, but it is more mellow and not ever present.  The leather flavor also comes through more fully.  I was expecting this to be a medium-bodied cigar based on what I’d read before purchase, but the initial third was in fact quite mild.  This changed as I reached the second.   the smoke is medium thickness and chewy.  Very enjoyable, especially since I find a lot of mild cigars have very thin smoke.  The draw is slightly more tight than ideal in my mind but still excellent.  The ash is a solid white-gray and speaks to the quality construction.

Montecristo Vintage 1999

2nd Third: Oh, so now you’re  a medium-bodied cigar eh?  This cigar pulled an everlasting gobstopper on me and changed its flavor profile thoroughly!  It went from a sweet leather mild, to a pepper oaky medium smoke.  The transition was quick, but also very pleasant.  Still it caught me off guard.  The flavors are quite rich at this point and I am definitely enjoying this. About half way through my ash fell off, but it is windy outside where I am smoking, so I am not surprised by this.  the burn on this cigar is also very good.  I have had no touch-ups and it is been level the whole time. Additionally, the second hand smoke put off by this cigar is extremely pleasant; which is an added bonus as not all cigars can make that claim.

Montecristo Vintage 1999

Final Third:  The flavor profile changed again.  Oh how you keep me guessing!  The pepper is now on the aftertaste, and the cocoa is now on the front end and in the smoke. The oak flavor is still solid, and the hint of leather is now present again. Also there is spice not unlike clove present.   I am impressed by how much this cigar changed its flavor profile.  Additionally, the final third is what took this from a good cigar, to a superior one in my mind.  I couldn’t stop puffing on the thing.  A couple times I had to force myself to slow it down as it was getting too hot.  The smoke also got thicker in this final third.

Conclusion: The Montecristo Vintage 1999 is definitely a go to cigar in my mind.  This would make an excellent cigar for both beginner and experienced smoker alike.  For the beginner it shows how many different flavors can be present in a smoke without being too heavy, and for the pros there are a lot of nuances to be uncovered and enjoyed.  Its consistent even burn scored high in my mind, especially considering I was smoking this on a windy day. Minor complaint: there was something about the quality that kept it from getting a 4.75 in my mind, but I have a hard time pinning it down.  I think everyone should try this cigar, especially at the generous price point.

I give this cigar a 4.5 out of 5.

The Best Thing: Complex profiles and great burn

The Worst Thing: Might be too sweet on the first third

Notes: Cocoa, Leather, Oak, Pepper, Agave, Clove

P.S. Pairing – Try out a sweeter Bourbon such as Bookers Small Batch or Makers Mark.  Compliments the sweet profile in the beginning and then brings out the wood on the midsection and end.

Leave a comment